2020 Waikato-Bays Junior League Decided

What was intended to be a six-round contest of the Junior was, because of Covid, cut to just three rounds in 2020. The series was wrapped up emphatically at Te Awamutu on Sunday 11-Oct by Joy Williams and Michele Liddle. This pair scored the maximum possible eight points in two of the three events. Awards were presented on behalf of the Regional Committee by Michael Neels. Click here to see full detail of the ladder.

Joy, Michael, MicheleJoy, Michael, Michele

September Regional Report

Every month each of the seven regions is expected to post a report of its goings-on to the Board. Waikato-Bays is the star in this firmament with only a few months missed over the years. Rona Driscoll carried the batten until 2014. Anna Kalma has been doing the job since then. Her reports are published on the NZB Facebook page. We thought to start posting them on this site to as a service to our Facebook phobic followers. Click on the attachment below to download the latest one.

Latest Recommendations from the Board

Things are starting to open up slightly. Aucklanders are supposed not to gather in groups of more than ten. Other places can play if no more than 100 people in attendance. That's 25 tables! Plus all the other restrictions that we've come to know so well. It's all in the latest advisory notice attached below.

Organised BBO in the Waikato-Bays

Face-to-face bridge re-de-materialised as we moved into Level 2 Covid response. Re-enter stage left on-line bridge with BBO. Patrick Carter in Auckland has punted up a fairly comprehensive schedule for all players to get their fix. We here in the Waikato were running smaller events which, over the Level 4 lock-down, were well supported by mainly local players. We hoped for attendances of more than five tables but support has waned. Now that clubs are back in business we will suspend further sessions until the need re-arises.
Please let us know if you'd like more and when.

Please click the Read More button below to ... read more ...

Clare and Kevin Win the WB Rubber Comp

Kevin & ClareKevin & ClareCongratulations to Clare Coles and Kevin Whyte who overcame Jo and Sam Simpson, the current holders of the Dan Gifford trophy for rubber bridge in NZ. Jo and Sam, by rights, should have been representing our country in Italy right now but we all know what happened about that! The match, played at Tauranga, went the full distance in a very tight contest with the Cambridge pair prevailing at the end.

Clare and Kevin have played a lot of bridge together. This file photo shows them as winners of the WB Intermediate League in 2012. In a pantheon of many other successes they won the national Open Restricted Pairs in 2016 and were recently runners-up in the 2020 Waikato Area Pairs. We wish them luck at the national finals in a month's time.

Our Inter-Provincial Team for 2020

Owing to the Covid-19 lock-down forcing the cancellation of IP trials all regions had to be choose their teams by selection. Applications were invited and your committee has chosen, hopefully, the strongest team for many years.

The event itself is to be held at the Wellington Bridge Club over two and a half days from Saturday 21 November. The format is usually a double round robin with byes. The players have been encouraged to get as much game time together as possible before the date.

Of late years there has been a notable uptake of teams sporting their regions' own uniforms. Ours look quite smashing (pic below is not to scale as concerns relative sizing).

Selection for IP Teams closed Friday 31st

As, due to Covid-19, we were unable to hold trials this year we will be selecting teams. Applications are invited from players who wish to put their names forward by 31-July - either as Pairs or as Teams - for selection of Opens, Womens, Seniors, and Intermediate teams to represent the Waikato-Bays Region in Wellington from 21-23 November.

2020 Inter-Provincial Finals
NZ Bridge is continuing to hold this event as four “man” teams separate to the National Congress. Please note that the finals have a huge impact on our finances. We will apply for a grant towards the costs, but there is no guarantee we will receive any funding. Therefore please be aware that the region will only be able to fund accommodation on a twin-share basis.

Waikato Area Pairs - final heat

This Sunday the final heat of the Waikato Area Pairs will be held at the Hamilton Bridge Club.

The event is a walk-in ... you don't need to register just turn up by 9.45 with your lunch, a partner and $10 to participate.

The 2020 WAP is a different beast - due to COVID we will have run just 3 heats and the overall winner will be decided by the best 2/3 scores (and while a sub is allowed - the two scores that count must be played with the same partnership).

The field is still wide open and you can see who is in contention via the following league ladder:

Thames One-Two at The Mount Intermediate

Adrienne, Ted, Sabrina, CarolAdrienne, Ted, Sabrina, CarolSaturday's third round of the Waikato-Bays Intermediate League held at Mount Maunganui was cleaned up big-time by players from Thames. Ted Cliffin partnering Adrienne Donald won the day followed by Thames president Carol Crowfoot with partner Sabrina Peters. The latter pair currently head the League table with four rounds to play.

The Mount club also ran the WB Junior League's second event won by Michele Liddle and Joy Williams of Matamata. Runners-up were Roz and Bob Strawbridge of Waitomo. These four are at the top of the Junior League which has just two more sessions to go.

Covid-19 Displaces Congress 2020

You heard about Hamilton becoming a centre for Covid-19 isolationistas? Guess which hotel they chose for that. Yup - Distinction Te Rapa .. who say they can no longer honour NZB's booking for Congress this year. The jury is out on what is going to happen now. Interesting tmes ...

Syndicate content