Finalists Found for the Inter-Club Teams

Full results for the Bay of Plenty Teams played between six of the Bay clubs at Rotorua on Sunday 24th July are posted on the Rotorua website. Congratulations to the Tauranga who blitzed the field in the Open and Intermediate sections to claim the Ib Thulin Shield for 2022. The Waikato results are summarised on the Hamilton website.

This clears the way for the annual finals between Bay and Waikato teams to be held on the 21st of August at Matamata. In the Open section representatives from Tauranga and Mount Maunganui will meet teams from Matamata and Te Aroha. Tauranga and Whakatane will send teams to meet Te Aroha and Thames in the Intermediates while Rotorua and Taupo have earned the right to meet Waikato and Hamilton in the Junior section. (Whakatane Juniors were, sadly, declared ineligible. Taupo will send a Junior team in their stead.) Each section will play 16-board matches against the other three teams in their grade. Results of previous years are available on this link.