Interprovincial Championship - 24-26 November

Waikato-Bays teams will be competing in the Inter-Provincials (IPs) this coming weekend. Matches are being held online with a delayed kibitzing link available at

Our Waikato-Bays Chef de Mission is Barry Jones. Non-playing Captains are Rachelle Pelkman, Ian Moore and Rebecca Osbourne. Team members are:

Jo Simpson – Sam Simpson (Tauranga)
Liz Fisher – Blair Fisher (Hamilton)
Anna Kalma – Richard Solomon (Te Aroha)


Megan and Leanne Win the 2023 Intermediate League

Megan Jolly & Leanne CurryMegan Jolly & Leanne CurryMegan Jolly & Leanne Curry of Hamilton took the Intermediate League trophy home from Cambridge after the final of eight sessions spread over the 2023 season. Their commanding five point lead over second placed Peter Daffurn of Te Aroha on 26 and Derek Rankin of Taupo on 24 they demonstrated the power of partnerships in this Individuals competition.

Full results and ladders are available on this and the Cambridge sites.

Junior League Champions Found

Steve & Keryn O'BrienSteve & Keryn O'BrienCongratulations to Keryn & Steve O'Brien of the Tauranga club for coming first equal in the 2023 Junior Championships League with 25 points apiece. This was six points ahead of Rotorua's Hilary Williams & Christine de Vries who shared third place.

Click here to view the full ladder. Full results for the final of six rounds are available on the Te Awamutu site.

Final of Waikato Club Teams vs Bay Club Teams

This final was held at the Matamata Club for the Cups for each grade and bragging rights for the 2023/24 on Sunday 20 August.
The resulting placings of a 3-match round robin in each grade were:

Waikato 42.06 VP
Mt Maunganui 32.17 VP

Tauranga 36.99 VP
Hamilton 31.67 VP

Waikato 48.79 VP
Tauranga 38.49 VP

WB InterProvincial Teams Named

The trials were held on-line as Teams entries for the Open, Senior and Women’s teams and as a Pairs event for the Intermediate qualifiers. No trial took place for the Women’s team as there was only one team entry. The WB Regional Committee congratulates the successful players and wish them all the best for the finals to be held on-line in November.

Open Team: Liz and Blair Fisher, Jo and Sam Simpson, Richard Solomon and Anna Kalma

Senior Team: Judy McLeod and Tony Hacking, Dianne and Hugh McAlister, Tim and Helen Healy

To All Waikato-Bay of Plenty Clubs

Expressions of interest are requested for serving on the Waikato Bays Regional Committee

The normal appointment to this Committee is for two years before new elections, however for family and health reasons a number of the Committee have requested to stand down after one year. NZB has agreed to a refresh and already there are volunteers for the Committee and I thank Hugh McAlister (Tauranga) and Kevin Whyte (Cambridge/Hamilton) for their commitment.

News From The Chair in 2023

Click here to download the latest newsletter from Board chairman Alan Morris. It covers the passing of Life Members John Wignall and Alan Turner, Cyclone Gabrielle, the roles of NZB and its Regional Committees, new management team for Congress, and much more. Earlier letters may be read in previous articles or by clicking on the links below.

The State of the Union

Allan Morris has produced the attached wide-ranging analysis of how the Board hopes Regions might still be useful and just where our game is at. You may click to download it and have a read

Final News From The Chair for 2022

Click here to download the latest newsletter from Board chairman Alan Morris. It covers the retirements of Richard Solomon and Derek Evernnett, the Board's new online strategy, a successful Congress and directions the Board is taking going forward. Earlier letters may be read by clicking on the links below.

Showdown at the Last Round of the WB Intermediate League

We were all poised for a tie-breaker at Cambridge on Sunday 16th October. The leaders of the Intermediate League were neck-and-neck on 26 points each, well clear of third-equal chasers and each was to play with a different partner. Amazingly enough, each pair scored only 2 points - 1 for scraping in over 50% (just) in the final result, and 1 for simply turning up. Meantime Hamilton's Megan Jolly and Leanne Curry heaped on 8 points each which wasn't quite enough to steal the top spot.

Syndicate content